The Action Network
Human Rights – Philippines

Improving of the human rights situation in the Philippines

News

Her voice carries on. On the murder of Zara Alvarez

Her voice carries on. On the murder of Zara Alvarez

Press Release, Cologne, August 26, 2020 Philippine human rights activist Zara Alvarez is dead - murdered on August 17, 2020 in Bacolod City (Philippines). Organizations from Europe condemn the act and give their voice to her cause. We are sad, stunned and above all angry. On the evening of August...

read more

Murder of Zara Alvarez

The Philippine human rights defender, teacher and single mother of a minor daughter, Zara Alvarez, was killed by unidentified perpetrators near her...

Advocacy 

As non-governmental organizations, we represent the interests of those affected by human rights violations in the Philippines before the human rights committees and bodies of international cooperation of the German government and international organizations such as the European Union and the United Nations.

Human Rights in the Philippines

By signing the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) and ratifying various UN human rights treaties, the Philippines has committed itself to protecting, respecting and guaranteeing human rights. Implementation is anchored in the Philippine constitution of 1987 and other agreements (such as the Bill of Rights) and institutions (such as the State Human Rights Commission – CHR). Of the nine most important UN human rights agreements, the Philippines has ratified eight. The UN Convention against Disappearances has not yet been signed or ratified by the Philippines:

  • UN Civil Pact (1986)
  • UN Social Pact (1974)
  • UN Convention against Torture (1986)
  • UN Women’s Rights Convention (1981)
  • UN Anti-Racism Convention (1967)
  • UN Migrant Workers Convention (1995)
  • UN Convention on the Rights of the Child (1990)
  • UN Disability Rights Convention (2008)
  • UN Convention against Disappearances (not ratified by the Philippines)

Individual cases

The AMP documents and accompanies individual cases of political murders as well as criminalizations and disappearances of human rights defenders and journalists, which illustrate the methodology of structural human rights violations. A list of all cases of political murders of human rights defenders and journalists appears in the AMP Human Rights Report.

  • Disappearances
  • Criminalization
  • Political murders

 

Way of working

The AMP uses lobbying instruments of civil society to influence decision-makers and multipliers in Germany, the EU and the UN. However, other means are also used to bring information to the public.

When lobbying is mentionedmany people first think of representatives of economic  interestswhich is why the AMP uses the term advocacy workCivil society actors have been campaigning for democracy as new forces since the 1990s and thus making their concerns heard in politics. 

What we do:

  • Monitoring the human rights situation in the Philippines through direct information from our partners, through our own travels and through media monitoring
  • Documentation of individual cases of serious human rights violations
  • Writing action and lobby letters
  • Regularly published analyses and LMP reports on the human rights situation in the Philippines
  • Briefing of political decision-makers, parliamentarians, missions and delegations to the Philippines
  • Organization of political expert discussions and networking workshops

 

Publications

Human Rights Report on the Philippines

Against the background of significantly increasing human rights violations, the AMP publishes a comprehensive human rights report every two to three years. The reports are based on information, cases and core concerns of our Philippine partner organizations to raise international awareness of human rights violations in the Philippines.

Action material and other reports

Advocacy work is aimed at decision-makers in politics and multipliers in Germany, the EU and the UN. We publish statements, press releases and other documents and reports in cooperation with the International Advocacy Networks (IAN) to contribute to the improvement of the human rights situation and the protection of human rights defenders in the Philippines.

About us

The Action Network Human Rights – Philippines

The Action Network Human Rights – Philippines (“Aktionsbündnis Menschenrechte – Philippinen” or “AMP”) pursues the objective to contribute to the improvement of the human rights situation in the Philippines by educating and influencing policy and decision makers as well as representatives of the civil society in Germany and the EU. Since its foundation in August 2007, the network coordinates policy dialogues, campaigns and international events and publishes background papers about the human rights situation in the Philippines.

The main topics of our work are the numerous cases of politically motivated killings and the continued practice of enforced disappearance.

Member Organisations of the AMP are Amnesty International Germany, Bread for the World – Church Development Service (EED), International Peace Observers Network (IPON), Misereor, Missio Munich, philippinenbuero Inc. in Asia House and the United Evangelical Mission (UEM).

Aktionsbündnis Menschenrechte Philippinen

Verbesserung der Menschenrechtssituation in den Philippinen

Aktuelles

Ihre Stimme trägt weiter. Zur Ermordung von Zara Alvarez

Ihre Stimme trägt weiter. Zur Ermordung von Zara Alvarez

Pressemitteilung, Köln, 26. August 2020 Die philippinische Menschenrechtsaktivistin Zara Alvarez ist tot – ermordet am 17. August 2020 in Bacolod City (Philippinen). Europäische Organisationen verurteilen die Tat und geben ihrem Anliegen eine Stimme. Wir sind traurig, fassungslos und vor allem...

mehr lesen

Mord an Zara Alvarez

Die philippinische Menschenrechtsverteidigerin, Lehrerin und alleinerziehende Mutter einer minderjährigen Tochter, Zara Alvarez,wurde am Abend des...

mehr lesen

Neue Projektkoordinatorin

Das Aktionsbündnis Menschenrechte – Philippinen wird ab sofort (Januar 2020) von Christina Keppel koordiniert. Sie freut sich auf die...

mehr lesen

Advocacy 

Wir vertreten als Nichtregierungsorganisationen die Interessen der Betroffenen von Menschenrechtsverletzungen in den Philippinen gegenüber den menschenrechtlichen Ausschüssen und Gremien der internationalen Zusammenarbeit der Bundesregierung und der internationalen Organisationen, wie der Europäischen Union und den Vereinten Nationen.

Menschenrechte in den Philippinen

Die Philippinen haben sich durch die  Unterzeichnung der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte (AEMR) sowie der Ratifizierung verschiedener UN-Menschenrechtsabkommen zum Schutz, der Achtung und der Gewährleistung der Menschenrechte verpflichtet. Die Umsetzung ist in der philippinischen Verfassung von 1987 sowie in weiteren Abkommen (wie etwa der Bill of Rights) und Institutionen (wie etwa der staatlichen Menschenrechtskommission – CHR) verankert. Von den neun bedeutendsten UN-Menschenrechtsabkommen haben die Philippinen acht ratifiziert. Die UN-Konvention gegen das Verschwindenlassen wurde bisher nicht von den Philippinen unterschrieben oder ratifiziert:

  • UN-Zivilpakt (1986)
  • UN-Sozialpakt (1974)
  • UN-Anti-Folterkonvention (1986)
  • UN-Frauenrechtskonvention (1981)
  • UN-Anti-Rassismuskonvention (1967)
  • UN-Wanderarbeiterkonvention (1995)
  • UN-Kinderrechtskonvention (1990)
  • UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention (2008)
  • UN-Konvention gegen Verschwindenlassen (nicht von den Philippinen ratifiziert)

Einzelfälle

Das AMP dokumentiert und begleitet Einzelfälle politischer Morde sowie Kriminalisierungen und Verschwindenlassen von Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen und Journalist*innen, die die Methodik der strukturellen Menschenrechtsverletzungen verdeutlichen. Eine Liste aller Fälle politischer Morde an Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen und Journalist*innen erscheint im AMP-Menschenrechtsbericht.

  • Verschwindenlassen
  • Kriminalisierungen
  • Politische Morde

Arbeitsweise 

Das AMP nutzt Lobbyinstrumente der Zivilgesellschaft, um auf Entscheider*innen und Multiplikator*innen in Deutschland, der EU und der UN einzuwirken. Jedoch werden auch weitere Mittel verwendet, um Informationen in die Öffentlichkeit zu tragen 

Wenn von Lobbyismus die Rede ist, denken viele Menschen zuerst an Vertreter*innen wirtschaftlicher Interessen, weswegen das AMP den Begriff der Advocacy-Arbeit verwendet. Schon seit den 1990er Jahren machen sich zivilgesellschaftliche Akteur*innen als neue Kräfte für die Demokratie stark und verschaffen ihren Anliegen so in der Politik Gehör. 

Was wir tun:

  • Beobachtung der Menschenrechtssituation in den Philippinen durch direkte Informationen unserer Partner, durch eigene Reisen und durch Medienbeobachtung
  • Dokumentation von Einzelfällen schwerer Menschenrechtsverletzungen
  • Schreiben von Aktions- und Lobbybriefen
  • Regelmäßig erscheinende Analysen und AMP-Bericht zur Situation der Menschenrechte in den Philippinen
  • Briefing politischer Entscheidungsträger*innen, Parlamentarier*innen sowie von Missionen und Delegationen in die Philippinen
  • Organisation politischen Fachgesprächen und Vernetzungsworkshops

Publikationen

Menschenrechtsbericht zu den Philippinen

Vor dem Hintergrund signifikant ansteigender Menschenrechtsverletzungen veröffentlicht das AMP alle zwei bis drei Jahre einen umfassenden Menschenrechtsbericht. Grundlage der Berichte sind Informationen, Fälle und Kernanliegen unserer philippinischen Partner*innenorganisationen um international auf Menschenrechtsverletzungen in den Philippinen aufmerksam zu machen.

Aktionsmaterial und Weitere Berichte

Advocacy-Arbeit richtet sich an Entscheidungsträger*innen aus der Politik und an Multiplikator*innen in Deutschland, der EU und der UN. Dafür publizieren wir Statements, Pressemitteilungen und weitere Dokumente sowie Berichte in Kooperation mit den Internationalen Advocacy Netzwerken (IAN) um zur Verbesserung der Menschenrechtslage und zum Schutz von Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen in den Philippinen beizutragen.

Über uns

Das Aktionsbündnis Menschenrechte Philippinen

Ziel des “Aktionsbündnis Menschenrechte – Philippinen” (AMP) ist es, durch Öffentlichkeits- und Advocacy-Arbeit auf Entscheider*innen und Multiplikator*innen in Deutschland, der EU und auf UN-Ebene zu wirken, um zu einer Verbesserung der Menschenrechtssituation in den Philippinen beizutragen. Das Bündnis erstellt seit seiner Gründung im August 2007 Publikationen, koordiniert politische Fachgespräche und organisiert Netzwerkveranstaltungen.

Thematische Schwerpunkte der Arbeit sind die große Zahl der politisch motivierten Morde, die Kriminalisierung von Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen und Regierungskritiker*innen sowie die Praxis des erzwungenen Verschwindenlassens. Darüber hinaus beobachten wir einen zunehmend menschenrechtsfeindlichen und gewaltverherrlichenden Diskurs in den Philippinen, dem wir mit unserer Arbeit entgegenwirken wollen.